Q. Who are the #Americansabroad “forced” to renounce US citizenship A. Those who are tax compliant

The above tweet references the following comment on the RenounceUSCitizenship blog that is worth a “stand alone” post:

I renounce June 8. I have not lived in the US at all since 1992. I did know about the ludicrous requirement to keep filing taxes annually and did so. Last year when I moved to France (from Australia), my “non-US person” husband and I opened a joint bank account. I did consider leaving my name off (to stop having to file fbars), but why should the one fact that I happen to be a US citizen dictate simple, everyday, choices like that? So we opened a joint acount. About a week later, the bank called us in–we didn’t know why. Our account representative (yes, a REAL person – in France people are still treated as humans – not as consumers with numbers and no faces) explained that because I had indicated on my application that I had been born in the US, I had to sign a form required by the US. This was the first I had ever heard of FBAR. Being called in and having to sign the form made me feel as if I had been raped by Uncle Sam! Only me–my husband was not a “US person” so no problem with him. That’s when I started really looking into it. And really thinking. Since 1992, when I started filing, things have just gotten so ridiculousy complex, and I can no longer suffer the intrusion on my time, health and freedom. Yes, I am forced to renounce because I happen to live overseas. For me, I had always seen the hypocrisy of the US–I remember in the 70s when I was in high school in the US reading things in the newspaper that the US did, and recognizing that what ‘we’ were doing was so often the exact things that ‘we’ criticized the Soviets for. doing, I could go on. I find that it is the US citizens who are worldly, can think deeply and widely to see various sides of issues (not just “You’re either with us or you’re against us!”) and are HONEST (i.e, file US taxes once they find out it is a responsibility to do so) who are the ones to renounce. Sadly for the US, we are exactly the type of people needed to make a country great in this globalizing world.

4 thoughts on “Q. Who are the #Americansabroad “forced” to renounce US citizenship A. Those who are tax compliant

    1. renounceuscitizenship Post author

      I think (for what it’s worth) that the answer is probably:

      Yes, Internal Revenue Code S. 877A requires 5 years of compliance with Title 26 (the Internal Revenue Code). It doesn’t require compliance with Title 31 which is where FBAR is found.

      Reply
      1. JapanT

        Not picking a fight with you, would like to with the bozos who came up with all this but not you. Given what you say is true, what good is it to be compliant when it is the FBAR fines that kill?

Leave a Reply

